01206 363794

About Essex Construction Training Association

How we are run:

There are 4 Directors who volunteer and form the Management Committee and a Group Training Officer, who is responsible for the everyday running of the Association. The grant from CITB helps cover the running costs so that we can organise training for you, at the most economical rates.

The grant comes with a number of key performance indicators that we have to achieve annually in order for the payment to continue. These revolve around areas such as:

  • Providing an average number of days training per member
  • Members having an average number of apprentices
  • Number of members using a CITB Training Plan
  • Members having a Business Skills Review

Members’ views are sought on what training they might require and an annual training plan is published by us (see Courses). Members will obtain far better rates than non-members and with an annual subscription of only £60, it is worth joining, even if you only use us for one place in a year.

Our Vision for the Future

We are the first stop for our members across Essex as a resource for advice, quality training, updates on legislation, knowledge of best practice, signposting, networking and as a forum for discussion. By achieving this, we are an ambassador for promoting a fully skilled and safe construction industry.

Our Mission

We will:

  • Deliver high quality, flexible training at the lowest possible cost
  • Provide the training that members require
  • Keep our members updated on current legislation and best practice
  • Be an access point for advice on all aspects of training
  • Organise networking opportunities, discussion forums and seminars

Our Management Committee consists of:

Chairman – Steve Ewers (T.J. Evers, Tiptree)

Director – Hayley Cornwell (Aquanera Construction Ltd, Colchester)

Committee Member – Bernard Rose (Roalco, Colchester)

Committee Member – Del Wyer (Downwell Demolition Ltd, West Thurrock)

Committee Member – Alex Larn (Beardwell Construction Ltd, Grays)

Committee Member – Mike Pearson – (Brown & Carroll (London) Ltd, Basildon)

Committee Member – Claire Wright – (Rose Builders Ltd, Lawford)

Group Training Officers – Lindsey Willson & Diana Thomas